Go to content

Electoral boundaries

On this page

Federal boundaries

Federal boundaries are known as federal electoral divisions. For details about Federal electoral divisions, visit the Australian Electoral Commission.

State boundaries

Electoral districts

State boundaries are known as state electoral districts. An electoral district is a geographically defined area in New South Wales, and each district elects a representative to the Legislative Assembly. New South Wales is divided into 93 state electoral districts.

You can find out which electoral district you belong to.

NSW electoral districts maps

Maps of the 93 electoral districts to come into effect for the March 2023 New South Wales state general election

View the electoral district maps.

Local government area boundaries

Areas and wards

The number of electors enrolled in council areas varies from less than 1000 to more than 250,000.

Councils may be either:

  • undivided - where the whole council electorate elects all the councillors for the council

  • divided into wards - where each ward electorate elects an equal number of councillors to make up the whole council.

There are 128 councils in New South Wales.

You can look up your local government area here.