Go to content

Upper Hunter by-election: Early voting open

10 May 2021

Early voting in person is now available for eligible voters of the Upper Hunter electoral district ahead of the state by-election scheduled for Saturday, 22 May 2021.

Voting in the state by-election is compulsory for electors in the Upper Hunter district. From today, eligible electors who cannot get to a voting centre on election day can vote early in person.

“Any elector in the Upper Hunter who believes they will be unable to vote in person on Saturday, 22 May should explore other voting options now to ensure their vote is counted. Voters can check their eligibility to vote early in person, and where they can vote, on the Electoral Commission’s website,” said John Schmidt, NSW Electoral Commissioner.

All early voting centres in the Upper Hunter will be run in line with the NSW Electoral Commission’s COVID-safe action plan. Voters will be asked to maintain physical distancing and register their attendance upon arrival at a voting centre using the Service NSW app. Voters can use their own pen to vote or they will be provided with a single use pen at the voting centre.

Early voting centres will be operating at different times and dates, with details listed on the NSW Electoral Commission's website, in:

  • Muswellbrook

  • Dungog

  • Quirindi

  • Gloucester

  • Sydney CBD

  • Singleton

  • Scone.

All early voting centres will close at 5pm on Friday, 21 May.

An application to postal vote can be made by eligible electors by returning a completed application form by post or online through the Commission’s website.

Applications for postal voting must be received by 6pm on Monday, 17 May.

Another option for eligible voters unable to attend in person is the Commission’s technology assisted voting platform, iVote. There are specific criteria for using iVote, so voters should check first whether they qualify on the website.  Registrations for iVote open on Monday, 17 May, and will be accepted until 1pm on election day.

For more information, including checking your eligibility to vote early, by post or by iVote, visit elections.nsw.gov.au

Media contact