Go to content

State by-election candidates announced

Bega, Monaro, Strathfield and Willoughby district candidates

Candidates for the Bega, Monaro, Strathfield and Willoughby State by-election have been announced by the NSW Electoral Commission.

Following ballot paper draws at 8:30am at the Election Manager’s office in each district candidate details have been published in ballot paper order on the Commission’s website.

View candidates

For these elections voters will have the choice of voting in person on election day, voting early at an early voting centre or voting by post.

iVote electronic voting is not available for the February State or local by-elections.

COVID-safety measures for these elections include that all voters are eligible to vote early in person, and all voters will be sent a postal voting pack. No application is required.

Early voting commences on Monday 31 January.

John Schmidt, NSW Electoral Commissioner said ballot papers are now in production and postal voting packs will commence distribution next week to all enrolled voters in each district.  

“It’s up to voters whether they wish to vote in person, or use their postal vote. Voters should start looking out for postal packs arriving in their letter boxes from the beginning of February.

“If people wish to use their postal vote, they must complete their ballot papers by 6pm on Saturday 12 February and return it to us as soon as possible. The cut-off for the Electoral Commission to accept postal votes is Friday 25 February,” he said. 

The NSW Electoral Commission has introduced a series of measures to minimise risks to the health, safety and wellbeing of electors, election workers, political participants, and others, and reduce the risk of exposure to COVID-19.

NSW Electoral Commission’s COVID safety plan is available on our website and further information about the by-elections is available at elections.nsw.gov.au.

Media contact