Go to content

Redistribution of NSW electoral districts - suggestion period closing soon

The 93 electoral districts in New South Wales are being reviewed, and the boundaries redrawn if necessary, to ensure the number of voters in each district is as even as possible. This process is called redistribution and is required by legislation to take place after every second New South Wales State general election. The last New South Wales redistribution was finalised in 2013, with the resulting boundaries in place for the 2015 and 2019 State elections.

The redistribution process is being administered by the independent three-member Electoral Districts Redistribution Panel, made up of the Chairperson, the Hon. Justice Arthur Emmett AO QC; the Electoral Commissioner for NSW, Mr John Schmidt; and the Surveyor-General of NSW, Mrs Narelle Underwood.

Suggestion period closing soon

The first phase of redistribution, during which suggestions are invited from the public on current electoral boundaries and names, will close on Wednesday, 1 July.

Following this, all suggestions will be published on the NSW Electoral Commission’s website for public inspection and comment.

The public will then be invited to lodge written comments on these suggestions from Thursday, 2 July to Wednesday, 15 July 2020. These comments will also be published on the NSW Electoral Commission’s website for public inspection.

Whole-of-state process

“Redistribution is a whole-of-state process. The primary goal is to distribute the enrolled electors as evenly as possible across New South Wales. All suggestions and comments on suggestions received from the public will be considered by the Panel when deciding where the boundaries should be drawn,” said Justice Emmett.

Other factors taken into consideration include: demographic trends, community interests (economic, social and regional), means of communication and travel, physical features and area, mountains and other natural boundaries, and boundaries of existing districts.

"The next step in the process is for the Panel to publish draft electoral district boundaries. At that time, you’ll have another opportunity to have your voice heard.”

Key dates for the redistribution process

Suggestion period open now

Wednesday, 1 July 2020 – Suggestion period closes
Thursday, 2 July 2020 – Comments period opens
Wednesday, 15 July 2020 – Comments period closes.

For further information about the redistribution and how you can participate, visit our website.

Media contact
Phone: (02) 9290 5936