Go to content

Redistribution of NSW electoral districts – suggestions and comments invited

Electoral districts in New South Wales are being reviewed

The 93 electoral districts in New South Wales are being reviewed, and the boundaries redrawn if necessary, to ensure equal numbers of voters in each district.

This process is called redistribution and is required by legislation to take place after every second New South Wales State general election. The last New South Wales redistribution was finalised in 2013, with the resulting boundaries in place for the 2015 and 2019 State elections.

The redistribution process is being administered by an independent three-member Electoral Districts Redistribution Panel made up of the Chairperson, the Honourable Justice Arthur Emmett AO QC; the Electoral Commissioner for NSW, Mr John Schmidt; and the Surveyor-General of NSW, Mrs Narelle Underwood.

“Over time, voters move in and out of electoral districts and in and out of New South Wales. The voting population of some districts grows and declines in other districts. This can result in uneven numbers of voters across the State’s electoral districts.”

Redistribution is integral to the democratic system in New South Wales and ensures the principle of one vote, one value,” Justice Emmett said.

Suggestions and comments now invited

A redistribution is a collaborative process involving input from the public, community groups, political participants and other stakeholders.

The Electoral Districts Redistribution Panel invites written suggestions and comments on these suggestions relating to the distribution of New South Wales into electoral districts.

Key dates for the redistribution process

Monday, 1 June 2020 – Suggestion period opens
Wednesday, 1 July 2020 – Suggestion period closes
Thursday, 2 July 2020 – Comments period opens
Wednesday, 15 July 2020 – Comments period closes.

For further information about the redistribution and how you can participate, visit our website.

Media enquiries
(02) 9290 5936