Go to content

Local Government by-elections: Election day and results

Cobar and Tenterfield Ward C go to the polls

More than 50 per cent of voters have already had their say ahead of tomorrow’s Local Government by-elections in Cobar and Tenterfield Ward C.

So far, 1,545 postal votes have been returned and 337 people have voted early in person.

Pre-election metrics and results for the by-elections can be found here:

NSW Electoral Commissioner John Schmidt reminded electors they can cast their vote via post or in person until 6pm, Saturday 26 February. Voting in each of these by-elections is compulsory.

Polling places will be open between 8am and 6pm, Saturday 26 February, at the below venues.

Cobar Shire Council  

  • Cobar High School, Wetherell Crescent, Cobar

  • Euabalong Community Centre, 29 Lachlan Street, Euabalong

Tenterfield Ward C    

  • Deepwater School of Arts, 72 Tenterfield Street, Deepwater

  • Mingoola Community Hall, Mingoola School Road, Mingoola

  • Tenterfield Shire Council – Timbarra Room, 247 Rouse Street, Tenterfield

Mr Schmidt said voters could follow “five easy steps” outlined in the postal pack they have received in the mail to fill out their ballot papers and successfully complete and return the pack.

“Make sure you have your vote completed on or before 6pm on election day and return it to us by 6pm Friday, 11th March. Otherwise, your vote cannot be counted,” he said.

“Information regarding how to complete postal packs is available on our website and translated into seven languages. Any voters who need assistance in a language other than English can call us via the national Translating and Interpreting Service on 13 14 50”.

For translated information regarding these by-elections see our Assistance in your language page

For information on NSW Electoral Commission’s COVID safety plan, download the COVID-19 safety plan for elections (PDF 864KB).
Media contact