Go to content

Draft changes to NSW electoral districts are now released for public consultation

The draft determination, developed by the independent, three-member Electoral Districts Redistribution Panel is available on the NSW Electoral Commission website.

This is part of the redistribution process, which ensures there are approximately the same number of voters in each of the state’s 93 electoral districts. Redistribution is undertaken after every second New South Wales state general election. Once finalised, the changes made by this redistribution process will be in place for the 2023 and 2027 State general elections.

The draft determination takes into account:

  • feedback received during an initial phase of public consultation
  • projected voter numbers
  • community interests (economic, social and regional)
  • means of communication and travel
  • physical features and area
  • mountains, rivers and other natural boundaries
  • existing district boundaries.

Reasons for proposed changes are provided as part of the draft determination and written submissions on the draft determination are now invited from the public. Any submissions lodged will be published on the NSW Electoral Commission website for public inspection.

Following closure of the submissions period, a further period of public consultation will commence with comments on those submission being invited. Any comments received during this further consultation period will also be published on the NSW Electoral Commission website for public inspection.

Key dates

Monday, 9 November 2020 – Submission period opens

Wednesday, 9 December 2020 – Submission period closes

Thursday, 10 December 2020 – Comments period opens

Wednesday, 23 December – Comments period closes.

Maps detailing the proposed changes and further information about the redistribution are available on the NSW Electoral Commission website.

Full Statement from the Chairperson

NSW Government Special Gazette No. 310 (PDF 0.1MB)

Media contact
Further information