Go to content

Ballot paper draw for 2017 Local government elections

Nominations close at 12 noon Wednesday, 9 August for candidates wishing to contest the NSW Local Council elections to be held Saturday, 9 September 2017.

As at 9am Tuesday, 8 August the NSW Electoral Commission has accepted nominations from 948 councillor and 33 mayoral candidates across the 45 councils whose elections are being managed by the Commission.

At 6pm on Wednesday, 9 August Returning Officers will conduct the ballot paper draw to determine the position of candidates and groups (where applicable) on the ballot paper.

Once approved, the final list of candidates for each council, will be published in ballot paper order on the NSW Electoral Commission website.

The draw will take place at the appointed Returning Office for that council. Members of the media and the public are invited to attend. A list of Returning Offices for each council are available at: Returning Office details. The media should contact the Returning Officers to arrange coverage of the event.

The close of nominations marks the beginning of the official month-long election campaign. Information: call 1300 135 736.

Not all NSW councils are having elections. To see if your council is having an election and whether you need to vote call 1300 135 736.

Maitland City Council is conducting its own election. Enquiries should be directed to the council: Election funding enquiries for all councils should be directed to the NSW Electoral Commission.

Media contact
Phone: (02) 9290 5936