Information: Some NSW Electoral Commission systems will be impacted while we carry out routine maintenance tasks. Learn more

Go to content

2018 Wagga Wagga by-election count

The NSW Electoral Commission has revised its timeline for processing the final vote count for the Wagga Wagga State by-election held on Saturday, 8 September 2018.

A total of 14,980 pre-poll votes were cast, which represents a 27% increase since the last election which was held for the Wagga Wagga District in March 2015.

In addition, the number of ballot papers marked with multiple preferences has increased significantly from previous elections resulting in additional effort and time to count.

Finally, because of the close result, there is considerable interest in the count process by the scrutineers appointed by the candidates to observe the count.

Because of these factors, it is taking longer for the NSW Electoral Commission to process these pre-poll votes.

It is currently anticipated that the distribution of preferences will be conducted on the afternoon of Friday, 14 September 2018. A further update will be provided before 10am, Friday, 14 September 2018.

Media contact 
Phone: (02) 9290 5936