Go to content

2017 Local council election nominations closed

Nominations for the NSW Local Council elections closed at noon, Wednesday 9 August.

1938 councillor and 61 mayoral candidates were nominated for the 45 Council elections managed by the NSW Electoral Commission.

Central Coast Council topped the list with 94 candidates vying for 15 council seats.

Other councils to record large candidate numbers include Orange (88); Queanbeyan-Palerang (80); Georges River (72); Inner -West (70); and Mid Coast (69).

6 candidates were automatically elected in 2 Murrumbidgee wards as the number of nominated candidates in those areas was equal to the number of positions to be filled.

Almost 4.7 million ballot papers will be printed for distribution across the state. The full list of candidates in ballot paper order can be viewed online.

NSW Electoral Commissioner, John Schmidt said the next four weeks would be busy leading up to the Saturday, 9 September poll.

"Communities across the State will have the opportunity to have a say on who represents them at the local government level. 20 newly amalgamated councils will be having their first election. With under a month until polling day, candidates will be busy campaigning while election officials will undertake the important task of organising pre-poll and postal voting".

Information: call 1300 135 736.

Not all NSW councils are having elections. To see if your council is having an election and whether you need to vote call 1300 135 736.

Maitland City Council is conducting its own election. Enquiries should be directed to the council: Election funding enquiries for all councils should be directed to the NSW Electoral Commission.

Media contact
Phone: (02) 9290 5936