

Election Notice

Wine Grapes Marketing Board

2024 Election of five (5) members

Pursuant to the *Agricultural Industry Services Regulation 2015*, the Electoral Commissioner for NSW or a person nominated by the Electoral Commissioner as Returning Officer will conduct an election of five (5) members to the Wine Grapes Marketing Board for the City of Griffith and the local government areas of Carrathool, Leeton and Murrumbidgee, to hold office for a period of three (3) years.

Nominations

Nominations on the prescribed form are invited on and from **Friday**, **16 August 2024**. Nomination Forms (Form 5) and Statutory Declarations in Support of Candidature (Form 6) may be obtained from the following locations:

- NSW Electoral Commission's website at elections.nsw.gov.au
- The Wine Grapes Marketing Board, 182 Yambil Street, Griffith, telephone (02) 6962 3944.

Eligibility for Nomination

Any person who belongs to the class of primary producers for which the committee concerned is constituted, as set out in the committee's foundation regulation, is eligible for nomination as a candidate for election to the committee.

Candidates must give written consent to their nomination.

Qualifications for Nominating Candidates

Each candidate for election must be nominated by at least six (6) persons (other than the candidate) each of whom must be entitled to vote in the election.

A person is entitled to vote and nominate a candidate if he/she is a grower within the Board's area of operations who, during the previous calendar year harvested more than 20 tonnes of MIA wine grapes, but does not include:

- a) in the case of a corporation:
 - i. a grower that is also a winery, or
 - ii. a grower in which a winery has a controlling interest, or
- b) in the case of an individual:
 - i. a grower who is also a winery, or
 - ii. a grower who is a director of a corporation that is a winery and who (as a grower) supplies the winery with all of the MIA wine grapes that he or she harvests.

A primary producer that is a corporation, partnership, trustee, or legal personal representative (whether agent, administrator, executor or otherwise) for a person or an estate of a person must nominate, by notice in writing, an individual to be enrolled and vote on behalf of the primary producer at any election.

That person, who must not already be enrolled on the final roll in some other capacity, is deemed in these cases to be the producer for the purposes of the election and entitled to vote and nominate a candidate.



Lodgement of nominations and Statutory Declarations in Support of Candidature

Completed Nominations and Statutory Declarations in Support of Candidature must be received by the Returning Officer, NSW Electoral Commission no later than the close of nominations **12.00 noon, Monday 9 September 2024.**

Forms can only be lodged with the Returning Officer at the NSW Electoral Commission:

- by post: PO Box 693 Grosvenor Place NSW 1220; or
- by email: Ballots@elections.nsw.gov.au or
- by hand: NSW Electoral Commission, Level 3, 231 Elizabeth Street Sydney

Note: Visitors to the NSW Electoral Commission are by appointment only. Please make an appointment via email to: Ballots@elections.nsw.gov.au or telephone 1300 135 736 prior to attending the NSW Electoral Commission office.

Any defect in a nomination or alterations or additions to the Statutory Declaration in Support of Candidature must be rectified by the candidate prior to the close of nominations. Any candidate wishing to withdraw their nomination must do so in writing so as to be received by the Returning Officer prior to the close of nominations.

Voting

If an election is necessary, a postal ballot will be conducted, to close at **12.00 noon**, **Wednesday 23 October 2024**. Voting material will be posted on **Wednesday 2 October 2024**. The method of voting to be observed for the election will be Proportional Representation.

Any enquiries concerning this election should be directed to Lanny Kok at the NSW Electoral Commission, telephone on 1300 135 736 or email to Ballots@elections.nsw.gov.au

Diana Kosseifi Returning Officer NSW Electoral Commission